By Coach Blake Hall

After an undefeated regular season and a home playoff win, it was time for the Conecuh Springs Christian School Eagles to challenge for the state championship.

The game was held at Cahawba Christian, and the Eagles faced off against Clay County Christian. Conecuh won the toss and elected to kick off to start the game.

After stopping Clay County on fourth down, the Eagles took possession and scored on their third play from scrimmage and never looked back as they cruised to a 54-32 victory and their First State Championship in football.

Conecuh was able to score on every offensive possession except one.

Kevin Padilla led the Eagle rushing attack, who carried the ball eight times for 175 yards and four touchdowns (5, 44, 32, 68 yards).

Padilla also scored through the air as he connected on a nine-yard touchdown pass to Miguel Gudino.

Cesar Bravo-Mota also had a great night running the ball as he had 175 yards on ten attempts and two touchdowns. Johan Perez-Vaquero connected on six of seven extra points, resulting in the other 12 points on the evening.

The Eagle defense was on the field quite a bit and allowed some points but came up with big stops that kept Clay County out of reach. Leading the defense was Ivan Reyes-Bautista, with nine tackles and two assists.

Also pitching in were Kevin Padilla with eight tackles, Miguel Gudino with seven, and Anthony Roe with five tackles and a sack.

After the game, All-State awards were presented to players from all participating six-man schools.

Conecuh was able to bring home several awards.

Anthony Roe received All-State Offensive Lineman, Cesar Bravo-Mota received All-State Running Back, Miguel Gudino received All-State Receiver, and Kevin Padilla received Offensive Player of the Year honors.

The defense for the Eagles also received several awards. Miguel Gudino received All-State Linebacker, Sergio Bravo-Mota received All-State Defensive Back, and Johan Perez-Vaquero received the All-State Kicker award.

Prior to receiving the state championship trophy, Kevin Padilla was recognized as the Most Valuable Player of the title game.

Upon being announced as the Champions, the four Senior Eagle Football players hoisted the trophy before joining the rest of the team.

The celebration began capping off a memorable undefeated season.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.