By Faye Gaston

The Union Springs City Council met in regular session on Monday, June 15, 2020, VIA phone conference, facilitated by City Attorney Elizabeth Smithart. Mayor Saint T. Thomas, Jr. presided with all City Council members present.

City Clerk, Presetta Walker, took the minutes. The first day to qualify to run for Union Springs Mayor and five council members was Tuesday, July 7, 2020. The 2020 Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, August 25, 2020, and the Run-Off Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, October 6, 2020, if necessary.

At the June 15, 2020, Union Springs City Council meeting, Resolution No. 2020-10 was approved stating the appointment of the Municipal Election officials as follows: Inspector, Valerie Jones Thomas; Ballot Clerks, Eboni Smith and Angela Calloway; Table 1, Beuncle Smith, Xaviera Walker, Annette Smith; Table 2, Alberta Hinton, Thomas Mims, Tiffany Scott; Table 3, Jessie Kate Borders, Raquet Finney, Rosalyn Shell; Table 4, Bernice Jones, Mary Rayborn, Tanya Kendrick; Table 5, Jacqueline Allen; Absentee Inspector, Duane Anderson; Absentee Clerks, Margaret Jones-Buford, Tiffany Shell, Donna Smith, Glenda Rotton, Shirley Heaird; Alternates, Stephanie Finney and Latarasha Tolbert.

Resolution No. 2020-08 was adopted for the appointment of City Clerk, Presetta D. Walker as the Elections Manager for the Municipal Election. Vote was unanimous. Resolution No. 2020-09 was adopted for compensation of $50.00 per day for the Absentee Elections Manager, Presetta D. Walker for the Municipal Election.

Vote was unanimous. Via phone conference, Herman Daniel addressed the City Council defending statements his wife Theresa Daniel had made on Facebook regarding "All Lives matter".

Then Via phone conference, she verbally resigned as Municipal Court Judge, effective immediately on June 15, 2020. It was voted to accept her resignation.

Individually, Mayor Thomas thanked Judge Daniel for her service as Municipal Judge, as did Councilman Roderick Clark, Councilwoman Deborah Hicks Milan, and Councilman Stan Cooks.

Councilman Brian Agnew thanked Judge Daniel for her service as Municipal Judge and also as District Judge. He said that he regrets the actions taken by the City Council. At the July 6, 2020, City Council meeting, John Will Waters, Jr. was appointed Municipal Judge following Judge Daniel's resignation.

At the same meeting, the City Council appointed Carmella Penn to be Prosecutor for Municipal Court.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.